wallawalla bing bang 

   
 My aunt visits a brujo. That’s mexican spanish for witch doctor. Basically. My mom started to visit him pretty much the minute we got to Browsville. Today she took me with her to his shop. It didn’t suck. 

The shop was old and dirty, like the shop from Gremlins, except all the knickknacks had a Dia de Los Muertos vibe. Swoon. Plus, everything had the appropriate layer of grime and dust. Also, there was the perfect amount of too much incense. 

 The brujo only speaks Spanish, so I was bored the second we sat down. Then he tells my mom that I want to ask him a question, but that I don’t want to ask it in front of her, so maybe I should come back later with my aunt because I’ll need a translater to understand him. I mean, he had me at brujo. Fine. He had me at “ditch your mom.”

Here is what my aunt translated from the brujo. Minus the part where he kept insisting I tell him what I want. Minus also the part where he said I don’t know what I want because my aura is dark and I need a total of two rituals and a bath to the price tag of $420 cash monies. My aura must be pretty dirty, right? Or maybe $420 is the standard aura cleaning rate.

 Oh snap! I almost forgot to mention he sprayed my hands with some liquid in a squirt bottle and made me rub the liquid on my hair, forehead, and the back of my neck. Then he had me shuffle a tarot deck with only the major arcana. There’s other stuff but it’s boring and detailed. Anyway, here’s what she said he said:

Your financial situation is going to change, to become better. You need to kill whatever has gone wrong in your past, in order for it not to surface to your future. The past, you need to leave it behind. Do not carry it with you. It’s not luggage. If you have the past with you, you’re always going to carry a big load on you. It does not allow you to advance. If you do not close that door you will continue your life being alone, sad, and unhappy. And you do not want to be like that. 

Sometimes you close yourself to your friends, to your family. That is the only way you will stop doing that, is if you shut that door and leave it all behind, so you can prosper in your life. 

You have to put your past in a grave, in order for you to continue and prosper in the future. If you do this then you will be able to continue on. That will allow you to flourish and obtain the life you wish to have. You want to prosper, you want to continue, but you don’t know how to rid yourself of the past. 

You don’t have confidence in anyone. You doubt everyone’s feelings towards you. You’re afraid that people will laugh at you, and just use you. That is why you get into your little moods and you just just get into like a fetal position. That is your protection mechanism, to shy away from everyone, so these things will not occur to you. 

If you receive love, you shutter yourself, you close yourself in. You don’t believe. People come toward you with trust and good intentions but you doubt that trust and good intentions. All of this comes from your past because of when you gave yourself completely and you didn’t get what you needed from that love. 

You don’t know what you want. You’re blocking yourself. 

You’re a grand woman. You’re very hardworking, and you want to have your own home, everything that comes with it. But you shut yourself from that. 

You don’t care if you have to work 10, 12, 15, 20 hours as long as you have enough to provide for yourself and your child, mostly your child. 

You are a diamond. Whoever discovers you, that can pull you out of this, is going to get the lottery with you. 

Leave a Reply

